It is what it is

Leave a comment

June 26, 2016 by James Lindquist

About five or six nights ago, I watched an interesting and funny movie on Netflix. The title was “The 100 year old man who escaped from a nursing home.” Whew, some title huh? His exploits and people he knew, met, and worked for read like a history book. My personal take away was his “comme ci comme ca” [1] indifferent attitude toward life itself, just like Doris Day used to sing about when she sang “Que sera sera.” [2]

The man had a great outlook on life and was – for sure – not going to die of ulcers or stress. He didn’t care whether the sun rose or fell. Nothing bothered him. NOTHING! His favorite saying was “It is what it is. Life does what life does.” He once told a guy over the phone, “If you want to kill me, you’d better hurry up, I’m a 100 years old.” I almost fell off of my chair laughing.

Like many others today, when things start going bad for me, things that I apparently had no control over, I developed a Que sera sera attitude as well. For my own sanity, I responded with an “Oh well.” That is until I remembered the grace of God.

But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and for ever. Amen. – [2 Peter 3:18 KJV]

The only thing wrong with the statement “Oh well” is that many times, others misinterpret our reaction as a complacent, “I don’t care” or “I don’t give a rip” attitude. When I used the term “Oh well,” nothing could have been further from the truth of what I was thinking. It was just a reaction during a hard time when something went wrong or when someone hurt or mistreated me and I hadn’t figured out yet how to resolve the incident. It was only a personal defense mechanism. It helped me to cope with the issue.

Oops, what did I do wrong? My mistake was, I tried to handle something by myself and kept my Lord out of the equation. What was the matter with me? What was I thinking? I was a Believer and had the grace, mercy, and love of Jesus Christ, my forever companion and confidant. Now, I just say, “I’m getting ready to grow in grace again,” and thank Jesus for being there for me, for never leaving or forsaking me [3], and for loving me [4]. Then I thank Him for taking me through the issue or giving me strength to work through it, with Him at the helm [5]. The problem with most failed decisions is that Christ was our co-pilot and NOT our pilot.

Asking Christ into my heart was the wisest thing I have ever done in my life. One thing, however, it is also wise that if my problem involves someone else through mistreatment, I choose to say, “I’m getting ready to grow in grace again,” to myself. If I say it out loud, I will have cut off all communication at that point with the person in question. This statement keeps me on the proper focus, while the statement, “Oh well” keeps me focused on the problem or person, which comes from the enemy anyway [6]. I chose to grow in grace and to keep my focus on Christ, who is the grace and hope giver. . .at least in my life.

May
The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Ghost, be with you all. Amen. – 2 Corinthians 13:14 KJV
____________________________

[1] Pronunciation: Come see come saw. It is a French phrase that literally means like this, like that. In conversation it means so-so, or neither good, nor bad.
[2] Pronunciation: K sir rah sir rah. It is a Spanish, Portuguese or French phrase (similar languages) and means “what will be, will be.” It is literally translated to mean, “it does not matter what you do, things will be the way they are supposed to be.” Or like our 100 year old man says, “It is what it is. Life does what life does.
[3] Hebrews 13:5
[4] John 3:16
[5] Philippians 4:13
[6] This does not mean that the person IS literally the enemy, but only that the enemy used him/her to inflict the hurt. The enemy tries to use us all in this capacity.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Archives

Recent Comments

Jim on Envy, the Comparison Game
James Lindquist on Envy, the Comparison Game
Barbara Mooney Wilso… on Envy, the Comparison Game
Barbara Mooney Wilso… on “Give us Barabbas”
Sean McNurlin on WORDS ARE CREATIVE AND PO…
