Above every name

3

August 18, 2015 by James Lindquist

About 20 years ago, I worked at a steel service center in Portland, Oregon as a CAD/CAM Plasma operator. It was lunch time and I was talking with a fellow worker. The lunch room was fairly crowded, with maybe 15 other coworkers. I don’t exactly remember what I was telling him (its been 20 years LOL), but I was just sharing the Lord.

What happened next, I DO remember, however. I said, “Watch this.” I shouted the name “Jesus” just barely above the clamoring conversation in the room. The room immediately came to a hush. It was like the noisy conversation had been piped in via the radio and someone had turned the volume knob to the “Off” position. It was that quick and quiet. It surprised even me. I won’t ever forget that day in the lunch room.

Christ can not only calm the sea and the wind, but He can calm a room into complete silence.

v38 And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish?
v39 And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.
v40 And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith? [Mark 4:38-40 KJV]

Is there a storm in your life that needs calming? Just call on the name of Jesus. He will never leave or forsake you. He will always be there for you. Just be still and know that He is God and call on His name. All who call on the name of the Lord He will save them.

3 thoughts on “Above every name

  1. Barbara says:

    The Lord calmed the sea for me last night … For almost 2 weeks , I felt like my world was falling apart ….. Kent was back in the hospital again and my buddy was on a Ventilator for almost 10 days … I was praying my heart out to God and so were others … Kent got out of the hospital Sat . and my buddy got off the Ventilator yesterday .. They both are doing fine … I know God touched them both and He calmed my spirit .. I was running around praising His Holy Name … Thanks Jim for a wonderful blog … GBY

    Like

  2. Audrey McNurlin says:

    Good word, Jim! The Name of JESUS that Name above every name! JESUS IS AS CLOSE AS THE MENTION OF HIS NAME

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    Very good my friend ! I like your stories cause they are simple and easy to relate to. Thanks my friend !

    Like

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Archives

Recent Comments

Jim on Envy, the Comparison Game
James Lindquist on Envy, the Comparison Game
Barbara Mooney Wilso… on Envy, the Comparison Game
Barbara Mooney Wilso… on “Give us Barabbas”
Sean McNurlin on WORDS ARE CREATIVE AND PO…
