Keeping focus

1

August 8, 2015 by James Lindquist

Jesus had just fed the 5000 and constrained His disciples to get into the boat and meet Him on the other side while He dispersed the crowd and went to the mountain to pray. The disciples were unwilling to leave Him without any apparent means of rejoining them. Reluctantly the disciples left but got only half way across and the sea tossed them about.

Once Jesus had sent the multitudes away and prayed to the Father He went to the disciples walking on the water. When they saw Him coming they were frightened and cried out in fear. They thought that Jesus was a spirit.

v27 But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.
v28 And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water.
v29 And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.
v30 But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.
v31 And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?
v32 And when they were come into the ship, the wind ceased [Matthew 14:27-32 KJV].

With the weekend coming up and everyone is leaving home to go to the beach, mountains, or to some family barbeque, it is easy to take our eyes off of Jesus. Why not take Jesus with you. Include Him in everything. It pleases Him when we long for His presence and rest in His sufficiency. He blesses us when we look to Him and walk with Him through the day.

Lord thank you that you always answer the prayer “Save me,” as you did for Peter when He walked on the water with you that day. I long for your presence Lord and it comforts me. I trust in you implicitly Lord and I rest in your sufficiency. I enjoy walking and talking with you daily Lord. I long for tomorrow when I can once again walk with you. I ask that my day not be boisterous and toss us about. But I will not be afraid and will be of good cheer because in your presence is peace and safety. I pray this in your precious name, Amen.

NOTE: Today’s Scripture reference taken from Matthew 14:22-33
________________________________

One thought on “Keeping focus

  1. Kathy Burns says:

    Very good my friend !

    Like

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Archives

Recent Comments

Jim on Envy, the Comparison Game
James Lindquist on Envy, the Comparison Game
Barbara Mooney Wilso… on Envy, the Comparison Game
Barbara Mooney Wilso… on “Give us Barabbas”
Sean McNurlin on WORDS ARE CREATIVE AND PO…
